SIU School of Medicine

Jump directly to a section:

Information Resources

Using MozBackup to backup Thunderbird email profile

MozBackup can also be used to backup/restore Firefox web browser profiles.

Installing MozBackup

  1. Download latest version of MozBackup from http://mozbackup.jasnapaka.com/
  2. Close all applications and double-click the installer file and just leave all default preferences.

Creating a backup of your Thunderbird profile

  1. Open MozBackup
  2. Click Next
  3. Select the "Backup a profile" operation. Select "Mozilla Thunderbird <version #> (en-US)". Click Next
    • Note: If you want to backup a Firefox Profile, select "Mozilla Firefox <version #> (en-US)"

mozoperationtype.gif

  1. Select the profile you want to backup (for example: default). The default location of the backup file is the My Documents folder. You can change the location and name of the file if you want. Click Next.

mozprofileselect.gif

  1. You will be prompted if you want to password protect the backup file. IR recommends that you password protect your backup profile. If you forget the password to your backup file, we can not reset or retrieve the password for you. In this case, your backup file would not be able to be used. In short, don't forget your password to the backup file.
  2. In the Components Selection window select the following components to backup: Emails, Address books, Saved passwords, Cookies, Certificates. Click Next.

mozcomponentsselect.gif

  1. Click Finish.

Restoring a Thunderbird profile from a backup file

  1. Launch MozBackup
  2. Click Next
  3. Select the "Restore a profile" operation. Select "Mozilla Thunderbird <version #>(en-US)". Click Next.
    • Note: If restoring a Firefox web browser profile select "Mozilla Firefox <version #> (en-US)"
  4. Select the profile you want to restore (for example: default) and then browse to the location of your backup file.
  5. If you password protected your backup file, you will now be prompted for the password you created.
  6. Click Next.
  7. Select the details you want to restore. You can just leave the default selections. Click Next.
  8. Click Finish.