SIU Med School Hosts 26th Annual Sangamon County Schools Art Exhibit


May 2, 2013                                                        


SIU Med School Hosts 26th Annual Sangamon County Schools Art Exhibit

Eighty-four pieces of selected artwork created by Sangamon County elementary, middle and high school students are being exhibited Monday, April 29, through Friday, May 17, at Southern Illinois University School of Medicine. The annual exhibit, now in its 26th year, is in the second floor lobby of the School’s main building, 801 N. Rutledge St., Springfield. It is open to the public during the School’s regular business hours, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. weekdays. 

The display represents the work of students from 32 schools in Sangamon County, selected by area art teachers. [Note: See attached list.] The artwork includes paintings, sculptures, pen and ink drawings, weavings and mixed media constructions. 

A reception for the students, their parents, teachers and principals will be held 4:15 – 5 p.m. Friday, May 3.

The exhibit is coordinated by Amy Minch, art teacher at DuBois Elementary School in Springfield.


Sangamon County Schools participating in 2013 SIU Art Exhibit

(students by school)

Ball Elementary School

Emma Pomeroy, Sol Veenstra, Mya Wilcockson


Black Hawk Elementary School

Gavin Baugh


Chatham Elementary School

Melodie Bui, Anna Oswall, Julian Moses


Christ the King

Ruby Grussenmeyer, Lauren Madonia, Kayla Seck


Dubois Elementary School

Maria Anselment, Reuben Densmore, Kalei Hazelwood, Garrett Rees


Franklin Middle School

Landen Bryant, Julie Hamlin, Nina Litvak


Glenwood Elementary School

Mia Jones


Glenwood High School

Nick Degroot, Amber Ground, Zoey Koester, Emily Kauerauf, Guannan Liu, Sierra Sweeney


Glenwood Intermediate School

Ethan Sikorski


Glenwood Middle School

Briana Bourland, Emma Kauffman, Sam O’Connor, Alison Woerner


Harvard Park Elementary School

Isaiah Lee


Hazel Dell Elementary School

Creighton Burris, Yashwi Patel


Iles Elementary School

Natalie Miller


Iles Middle School       

Grace Thompson


Jefferson Middle School

Alexandria Grober, Thomas Vanderdrift III


Laketown Elementary

Ariona Fairlee

Lincoln Magnet School

Daniel Baker, Elizabeth Barkley


Lindsay Elementary School

Aleah Cross, Abraham Famuwagun, LaShiya Martin


Little Flower

Will Cullen, Chloe Hillyer, Sam Malawy


Matheny-Withrow Elem. School

Tashianna Yates


New Berlin Elementary

Rylie Crawford, Lauren Klump, Alexa Stock, Landon Winkelman

New Berlin High School

Josh Mueller, Sarah Suits, Malik Yamini


Owen Marsh Elementary

Shelby Belford, Quentin Tyler

Pleasant Plains Middle School

Sarah Miller, Vlada Popyk, Maggie Shepherd, Hannah Van Houten

Rochester  Elementary 2 - 3 School

Jane Hart


Rochester Intermediate

Lauren Clare, Jamie Hefly, Allison Richey, Riley Steinkamp


Rochester Junior High School

Katherine Harper, Kaitlyn Sutker


Saint Aloysius School

Delayne Chambers, Cecelia Nguyen, Madison Ribaudo, Amia Sarnecki


Sandburg Elementary School

Kush Patel, Zevulun Long


Southeast High School

Brittany Bradley, Jamal Mack, Jenine Schott, Shauniera Wilson


Springfield Ball Charter School

Natalie Berendt, Kennedy Hines, Jack McLaughlin

Tri City High School

Mason Lyons


Wanless Elementary School

Grace Ayilisungu


Phone 217-545-8000
P.O. Box 19620
Springfield, IL 62794-9620
The mission of SIU School of Medicine is to assist the citizens of central and southern Illinois in meeting their health-care needs through education, patient care, research and service to the community.


Connect on FacebookMore About SIU SOM on YouTubeSIU Blogtwitter