SIU School of Medicine\About SIU School of MedicineDirectoriesNews and InformationSIU CarbondaleSearch
SIU School of Medicine-News Releases
CalendarCampus NewsMapsReleasesTours and SpeakersLogo/Identity Overview

Media Registry
Radio Newsline
Faculty and Staff Bios and Photos
Photo Archive
Public Affairs Staff
October 10, 2003

SIU Med School Faculty Member Receives National Research Award

A faculty member at SIU School of Medicine in Springfield, Andrzej Bartke, Ph.D., professor of internal medicine and physiology, has been awarded the Senior Scholar in Aging Award by The Ellison Medical Foundation (EMF). The EMF awards support innovative biomedical research in aging and infectious disease. This year, eleven awards were given for research that relates to understanding the aging process and age-related diseases and disabilities.

This award to Bartke is a four-year national grant for the study of the effects of genes and hormones on aging. Total budget for the grant is $850,000.

The study will look at the growth and thyroid hormones and their roles in regulating glucose metabolism and determining the rate of aging and length of life in Ames dwarf mice. In addition to clarifying the mechanisms that control aging, this research could provide important information relating to the medical and public health issues of obesity, diabetes and cardiovascular disease.

This is the tenth grant at SIU Bartke has received for aging research, which now totals more than $7 million. He has other aging research projects currently underway funded by the National Institute on Aging. His previous external research has been funded by National Institutes of Health, the U.S. Department of Agriculture, the North Atlantic Treaty Organisation and the Rockefeller Foundation.

Bartke joined SlU's medical school faculty in 1984. He earned his doctorate in Zoology Genetics from the University of Kansas in Lawrence (1965) and magister degree (equivalent of a master's) from Jagiellonian University in Krakow, Poland (1962). Bartke has also received the inaugural Methuselah Prize for his contributions to life extension research resulting in the longest lived mouse (2003), the Phi Kappa Phi Outstanding Scientist Award (1997), the Carl G. Hartman Award of the Society for the Study of Reproduction (1995), the American Society of Andrology's Distinguished Service Award (1995) and the Sigma Xi Kaplan Research Award (1991).



thern Illinois University School of Medicine Office of Public Affairs News Releases P.O. Box 19621, Springfield IL 62794-9621, 217-545-2155