SIU School of Medicine\About SIU School of MedicineDirectoriesNews and InformationSIU CarbondaleSearch
SIU School of Medicine-News Releases
CalendarCampus NewsMapsReleasesTours and SpeakersLogo/Identity Overview

Media Registry
Radio Newsline
Faculty and Staff Bios and Photos
Photo Archive
Public Affairs Staff

November 14, 2008

Fourteen fourth-year medical students have been elected officers, representatives and committee members for the Class of 2009 at Southern Illinois University School of Medicine in Springfield.

(Editor:  See the attached list for the student from your community.)

SIU School of Medicine is a public medical school established in 1970 and focused on the health care needs of downstate Illinois.  An international leader in medical education, the school is based in Carbondale and Springfield and is specifically oriented to educating new physicians prepared to practice in Illinois communities.  Since opening, more than 2,200 physicians have graduated from its program.  Its Web site is

• Jennifer Creamer, daughter of Gary Creamer of Brimfield, was elected chair of the    senior class.
• Audrey L. Tanksley, daughter of Charles E. Roberson Jr. of Chicago and Wynonia    Tanksley of Minneapolis, Minn., was elected vice chair of the senior class and as a member of the Organization of Student Representatives.
• Laura Petrea, daughter of John and LaRhea Petrea of Pittsburg, was elected    secretary of the senior class.
• Whitney Luke, daughter of Michael and Robyn Luke of Springfield, was elected    treasurer of the senior class.
• Katrina Pedersen, daughter of Robert F. and Deborah Pedersen of Dunlap, was elected as senior class representative to the student general assembly.
• Melissa A. Schleeper, daughter of Leo and Janet Schleeper of Brussels, was elected    as senior class representative to the student general assembly.

SIU School of Medicine Class of 2009 Committee Members
• J. Adam McLaughlin, son of Dr. Michael and Gale McLaughlin of Greenwood Village,    Colo., was elected to serve on the doctoring committee. 
• Kevin M. Dale, son of Dr. Galen and Cheryl Dale of Mahomet, was elected to serve on    the educational policy committee.
• Tiffany Wilson, daughter of Johnny and Dedra Morris of Olympia Fields, was elected to    serve on the information management policy committee.
• Omonigho Ekhomu, daughter of Ona Ekhomu of Chicago, was elected to serve on the    library advisory committee.
• Arica Pittman, daughter of Jerome and Angela Pittman of Florissant, Mo., was elected    to serve on the student advisory committee.
• Naitik Patel, son of Varsha and Jagdish Patel of Des Plaines, was elected to serve on    the student advisory committee.
• Drew C. Peterson, son of Ray and Marcia Peterson of Rochester, was elected to    serve on the student progress committee and also on the Year 4 curriculum    committee.
• Aishah Covington, daughter of Archie and Margaret Covington of Corpus Christi,    Texas, was elected to serve on the Year 3 curriculum committee. 



thern Illinois University School of Medicine Office of Public Affairs News Releases P.O. Box 19621, Springfield IL 62794-9621, 217-545-2155