SIU School of Medicine\About SIU School of MedicineDirectoriesNews and InformationSIU CarbondaleSearch
SIU School of Medicine-News Releases
CalendarCampus NewsMapsReleasesTours and SpeakersLogo/Identity Overview

Media Registry
Radio Newsline
Faculty and Staff Bios and Photos
Photo Archive
Public Affairs Staff

November 13, 2008

Two SIU School of Medicine faculty have recently received national honors.

Dr. Jerry E. Kruse, Dr. Jerry Kruse portrait professor and chair of family and community medicine, has been named by Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) Michael Leavitt to a four-year term on the Council on Graduate Medical Education (COGME).  The 17-member council is authorized by Congress to provide an ongoing assessment of physician workforce trends, training issues and financing policies and to recommend appropriate federal and private-sector efforts to address identified needs.  COGME makes recommendations to DHHS, the Senate Committee on Health, Education, Labor and Pensions, and the House of Representatives Committee on Commerce.

Kruse joined SIU’s faculty in 1984 and now serves as chair of the family and community medicine department.  He completed a Robert Wood Johnson Fellowship in academic family practice and a master’s in public health at the University of Missouri at Columbia (UMC) (1984).  He completed a family medicine residency and earned his medical and bachelor’s degrees at UMC (1982, 1979, 1975).  Kruse is board certified in family medicine.

Dr. David E. Steward, Dr. David Steward portrait professor and chair of internal medicine, has been elected president of the Association of Professors of Medicine, an organization of internal medicine departments at medical schools and affiliated teaching hospitals in the U.S. and Canada.  Its mission is to lead academic internal medicine in education, research, and patient care.

Steward joined the SIU faculty in 1979.  He completed his internal medicine residency at SIU (1978).  He earned his medical and bachelor’s degrees at the University of Iowa in Iowa City (1975, 1972).  He is board certified in internal medicine.



thern Illinois University School of Medicine Office of Public Affairs News Releases P.O. Box 19621, Springfield IL 62794-9621, 217-545-2155