SIU Division of General Surgery 
Phone 217-545-8000
Fax 217-545-0040
Email surgery@siumed.edu 
Make an Appointment

Current Residents

 

PGY-5

Eric Robinson, MD Eric Robinson, MD

Hometown?: Hanover Park, IL

Medical School: University of Illinois at Urbana/Champaign

Why SIU?: Good sized academic hospital with a small town feel and a strong emphasis on education.

E-mail : erobinson@siumed.edu

Chad Gonczy, MDChad Gonczy, MD

Hometown?: Maple Grove, Minnesota

Medical School: Georgetown University

Why SIU?: The reputation for surgical education and focus on a positive learning environment.

E-mail : cgonczy@siumed.edu

PGY-4

David Lovett, MD David Lovett, MD

Hometown?: Indianapolis, Indiana

Medical School: Indiana University

Why SIU?: Location and emphasis on surgical education played a role.

E-mail : dlovett@siumed.edu

Jaclyn Wierzbicki MD Jaclyn Wierzbicki, MD

Hometown?: Naperville, Illinois

Medical School: Medical College of Wisconsin

Why SIU?: I was attracted by the reputation for surgical education and the friendliness of the faculty and residents.

E-mail : jwierzbicki@siumed.edu

Cindy Ha, MD Cindy Ha, MD

Hometown?: Houston, TX

Medical School: Baylor College of Medicine

Email: cha@siumed.edu

Nick Mouw, MD Nick Mouw, MD

Hometown?: Jefferson County, CO

Medical School: University of Colorado Denver School of Medicine

Why SIU?: I like the mix of academic and private practice faculty.

Email: nmouw@siumed.edu

PGY-3

Bill Bailey, MDBill Bailey, MD

Medical School: University of Illinois College of Medicine – Chicago, IL

Hometown?: Carlinville, IL

Why SIU?: I chose SIU for a few reasons. First, I was amazed by how friendly the residents were and how they enjoyed working with the hospital staff and attendings. Second, I was raised in this region and have close family ties within a reasonable drive. Third, I was impressed by the focus of the program on surgical education and the expanding skills lab program. Finally, there are GREAT hunting and fishing, as well as, other fun outdoor opportunities around the Springfield area.

Email: wbailey@siumed.edu

Jac Cooper, MDJac Cooper, MD

Medical School: Indiana University School of Medicine – Indianapolis, IN

Hometown?: Indianapolis, IN

Why SIU?: I came to SIU because of the genuine collegial relationships among the residents and the emphasis on surgical education.

Email: jcooper@siumed.edu

James Regan, MBChB James Regan, MB,ChB

Medical School: Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland

Hometown?:Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Why SIU?: SIU has two qualities that were essential to me in a residency program. First,
it has a nice mix of academic and private medicine, allowing a unique opportunity to learn in these two different environments. Second, there is great camaraderie amongst the residents making it easy and fun to come to work.

Email: jregan@siumed.edu

Erin Canopy, M.D.

Hometown?: Hopedale, IL

Medical School: University of Illinois College of Medicine, Chicago

Why SIU?: I was impressed by the program's attitude toward structured surgical education and the knowledge and confidence of the residents. It's a program I felt like I could easily call home.

Email: ecanopy@siumed.edu

Allie Dailey, MD Allie McDow, MD

Hometown?: Ashland, KY

Medical School: University of Kentucky College of Medicine

Why SIU?: I chose SIU because of its reputation for leadership in surgical education. SIU places a high priority on training its residents both in the surgical skills lab and in the OR. During my interview I felt that the residents seemed like a family.

Email: amcdow@siumed.edu

PGY-2

Elaine-Jayne Buckley, M.D.

Hometown?: Cranbrook, British Columbia

Medical School: Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland

Why SIU?: When I applied to SIU I didn't know very much about Springfield or the surrounding area. The welcoming, friendly, approachable nature of everyone I met in Springfield made me know this was a place I would find support and encouragement throughout residency. Dr. Mellinger, the general surgery staff, and the residents approach residency to find a balance between autonomy and support. I was thrilled to be accepted to SIU General Surgery for residency and have found a new home here in Springfield.

Email: ebuckley@siumed.edu

Ben Rejowski, M.D.

Hometown?: Burr Ridge, IL

Medical School: Indiana University School of Medicine, Indianapolis

Why SIU?: I wanted an academic surgery program that focused on broad-based general surgery and allowed for early hands-on experience. SIU accomplishes both in the setting of a well established faculty and supportive colleagues.

Email: brejowski@siumed.edu

Emily Sturm, M.D.

Hometown?: Indianapolis, IN

Medical School: Indiana University School of Medicine, Indianapolis

Why SIU?: I felt there was a good deal of integrity among the faculty.  I also appreciated the emphasis on resident education; they really seemed genuinely invested in teaching.

Email: esturm@siumed.edu

Susan Wetzel, M.D.

Hometown?: Westerville, OH

Medical School: Indiana University School of Medicine, Indianapolis

Email: swetzel@siumed.edu

PGY-1

Melanie Barnard, MD

Hometown?: Kampala, Uganda

Medical School:  Medical College of Georgia at Georgia Regents University

Why SIU?  Good training, friendly and positive atmosphere, and location near my husband's family.

Email: mbarnard61@siumed.edu

John Bauman, MD

Hometown?:  Belleville, IL

Medical School:  SIU School of Medicine

Why SIU?  The people.  Really impressed by both the residents and attendings, people who enjoy teaching and learning in a friendly environment.  That makes the whole experience better for the doctors, and also the patients.

Email: jbauman@siumed.edu

Amir Khan, MD

Hometown?:  Scottsbluff, Nebraska

Medical School:  University of Nebraska College of Medicine

Why SIU?  I chose SIU because of the program'ss excellent leadership from level of Program Chair/Director to senior/junior house staff and its friendly environment.  Additionally, the program has aspects of both a community and academic program.

Email: akhan75@siumed.edu

Nader Tehrani, MD

Hometown?:  Battle Creek, MI

Medical School:  Albany Medical College

Why SIU?  I chose SIU because of the friendly, encouraging atmosphere and the emphasis on education.  The faculty and staff at SIU are truly committed to resident training.

Email: ntehrani86@siumed.edu