Resident Educational Events

27th Mimi Cameo Covert Memorial Lecture

Paul W. Esposito, MD, professor of Orthopaedic Surgery and Pediatrics at the University of Nebraska College of Medicine, served as the visiting professor for the 27th Annual Mimi Cameo Covert Memorial Lecture sponsored by the SIU SOM Division of Orthopaedic Surgery, held on Friday, November 15. His discussion topics included "Treatment of Osteogenesis Imperfecta", "Evaluation & Treatment of Musculoskeletal Infection in Children", "Musculoskeletal Impact of Childhood Obesity (Bad Bones & Joints in Big Boys and Girls)", and "Case Discussions - Infection and Dysphasia".

Aspire to Inspire:

The Division of Orthopaedics participates in the overall educational mission of the SIU School of Medicine by contributing orthopaedic and rehabilitation medicine expertise to undergraduate, graduate and medical students, as well as offering continuing medical education programs. We inspire and train the experts of tomorrow, through a residency program that draws the highest quality medical students. We provide opportunities and encouragement for faculty, staff, residents and students to advance their careers in this field, while providing an environment supportive of teamwork, communication and collaboration with other individuals and organizations. An evolving research program further enhances our dedication to education and patient care.

Download the Education article from Aspire to Inspire