You are here

Distinguished Alumni Award

The Distinguished Alumni Award recognizes alumni who have made an outstanding commitment to the health and welfare of their patients and their community, as well as for humanitarian activities (community setting) or who have made outstanding contributions to medicine and distinguished service to mankind (academic/research medicine). Award selection is made by the Alumni Society Board of Governors and recipients will be recognized at commencement ceremonies each May.

Read more about the award and access nomination form

Photo: SIU SOM Alumni Society Board of Governors President Elizabeth J. Cavanagh, MD '98 (second from right) and Dean Jerry Kruse, MD, MSPH (far right), take a moment to pose with Paul Checchia, MD '93 (center), the 2018 Distinguished Alumni Award recipient, who was bestowed with the award at Commencement 2018. Also on hand to help Dr. Checchia celebrate were his wife, Joni, and his son, Andrew.

See all available commencement photos starting with 2013

Award Recipients

2018 Paul Checchia, MD '93
2017 Janet Albers, MD '87
2016  Elizabeth Montgomery Collins, MD, MPH, DTM, ‘96
2015  Mary Jo Gorman, MD '84
          Stephen Raben, MD '90
2014  Edward Paul, MD '81
2013  Kim Keppler-Noreuil, MD '89
2012  Lance Rodewald, MD '79
2011  Amber Barnhart, MD '81
          Gordon Grado, MD '77
2010  Rebecca Johnson, MD '78
2009  N. Regina Rabinovich, MD '82
2008  Frank Aguirre, MD '80
2007  Gregory Poland, MD '80
2006  No Award
2005  Susan Swedo, MD '80
          Ronald L. Johnson, MD '77
2004  Zita Surprenant, MD '81
2003  Roxanne Guy, MD '77
2002  Larry Jones, MD '76
          Sharon Hull, MD, MPH '87
2001  Michael Moran, MD '83
2000  Jeffrey Frank, MD '86
1999  No Award
1998  No Award
1997  Daniel Barrow, MD '79
1996  Susan Nagele, MD '81
1995  Stephen Hazelrigg, MD '83
1994  Roger Wujek, MD '76
1993  J. Kevin Dorsey, MD, PhD '78