You are here

Med Student Scholarships Distribution Doubles

April 26, 2018

In an outstanding show of support from donors, 45 medical students received a scholarship this academic year, more than double last year’s number.

“A big thank you to all our donors who made these gifts possible,” said Necole Powell, director of development. “Our students graduate more than $200,000 in debt. Scholarships are a critical component to help them manage their debt.”

Five fourth-year students at Southern Illinois University School of Medicine were awarded the Alumni Scholarship established by the charter Class of 1976 as a gift in honor of its 25th reunion. The Class of 1977 followed the lead of its predecessor by supporting the fund with reunion gifts. Since then, alumni from all classes contribute to the scholarship annually, increasing the availability of funds. An additional 18 students have also received alumni scholarships, funded by the generosity of the Classes of 1975, 1977, 1978, 1979, 1981, 1983, 1984, 1986, 1988, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1995, 1996, 1999, 2002, 2004 and 2007. 

Alumni Scholarship recipients:

Jordan Markel 

Thomas Hu 

Andriana Stephens 

Allen Ghareeb

Emily Palomak

Brian Ginn

Jace Camp

Megan Goldstein

Dakota Gilbert

Dominic Antonacci

Kyley Maxheimer 

Molly Etling 

Brian Cacioppo 

Jennifer Brown

Rae Gumayan 

Nicholas Lukert

Brandon Churchill

Veronica Whittington

Ian Ridge

Laney Martin

Christopher Trammell 

Tasha Sparks

Grace Hile 

Twenty students were awarded various scholarships named after generous donors. 

Saikrishna Balasubramanian received the Mayme Lawrence MD/JD Scholarship. 

Kody Bolk received the J. Kevin Dorsey, MD, PhD Scholarship. 

Jason Cullen received the Watson and O’Neil Scholarship. 

Madelyn Fetter, Aliza Hasan, Ben Seadler and Jackson Graves, received the Kathryn Terry Scholarship. 

Travis Fulk received the Gerald M. and Neva Woodall Scholarship. 

Brian Ginn received the Cleverdon Palliative/Third World Scholarship.

Theodore Harper received the Harold Bardo Scholarship.

Jill Haxel received the Kathryn Patton Trust Scholarship.  

Bailey Hester received the Dr. Eli and Claire Borkon Scholarship. 

Caleb Lusk and Mollie Laramore received the Southern Illinois Medical Association (SIMA) Scholarship. 

Shelby Markel received the Dr. Margaret Wilson Scholarship. 

Andrew Partain received the God at the Speed of Light Scholarship.

Dominic Phemister received the Kate Burkhart Medical Scholarship Endowment. 

Rachel Schmals received the J.S. Templeton, MD, Memorial Scholarship.

Audra Storm received the Landecker Scholarship.

Emily Wade received the Kurt Heisler, MD, Scholarship. 


Two students received the SIU School of Medicine Scholarship. The School of Medicine Scholarship is given annually to third- or fourth-year medical students who have shown academic success and/or performed service to the School of Medicine.


SIU School of Medicine Scholarship recipients:

Sian Best

Hayden Warner


 For more details about these scholarships, or to learn how you can establish a scholarship, contact the SIU Foundation office at 217-545-2955 weekdays.

Gifts received by the Southern Illinois University Foundation support the growth of the School of Medicine. Give a gift online at