You are here

Welcome to Springfield

WELCOME TO SPRINGFIELD FALL 2017

The following information will help you establish day-to-day connections, seek answers to questions you might have and locate sources to solve problems.  This list of people is not intended to be comprehensive, but should give you some familiarity with those you may need to know while in Springfield.


EXECUTIVE OFFICE OF THE DEAN AND PROVOST

OFFICE OF EDUCATION & CURRICULUM

MEDICAL LIBRARY

RESOURCE FACULTY

SPACE:  FREQUENTLY USED ROOMS

MISCELLANEOUS

YEAR 2 CURRICULUM COMMITTEE & CONTACTS


 

 

 


 
EXECUTIVE OFFICE OF THE DEAN AND PROVOST
 
The Dean and Provost of the School of Medicine is responsible for the overall development, maintenance and improvement of the institution and its programs.  His responsibilities include relating the School's role and its need to higher authority and affiliated institutions; providing guidance and counsel to operating units within the School; assuring institutional resources are used efficiently and effectively in support of academic programs; and assuring the School's goals are achieved.

  • Jerry Kruse, MD, MSPH -- Dean and Provost
  • Nancy Travis -- Executive Assistant

 

OFFICE OF EDUCATION & CURRICULUM
 
The Office of Education & Curriculum coordinates the delivery of the undergraduate curriculum.  Responsibilities include curriculum resources, evaluation and logistics, student assessment and progress, and curriculum policy implementation and maintenance.
 
Faculty and staff in Education & Curriculum will be able to assist you in the following areas: student progress and academic advisement, curriculum coordination, educational research, Medical Education electives, Year 2 student absences, curriculum development, standardized patients, institutional policies and procedures, performance-based testing, curriculum documents and resources, curriculum evaluation, Year 2 curriculum scheduling, professional development and diagnostic assessment laboratory.

 

MEDICAL LIBRARY

Other library resources
Memorial Medical Center’s library is also available. It is located in room 443 of the Memorial Center for Learning and Innovation (MCLI), 228 W. Miller Street. The library has 10 computers that provide access to MMC applications found in the main hospital. Hours are 7:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. Monday through Friday.
 
 

RESOURCE FACULTY:

Faculty members facilitate small group instruction and provide patient examination feedback in Doctoring.  Since you will have regular contact with these faculty members, you are encouraged to discuss with them issues and problems regarding the disciplines they represent. In addition, Jordan Wilton is available as needed should concerns arise regarding the curriculum.

Deb Klamen, MD, MHPE, Associate Dean for Education & Curriculum
Crystal Wilson, Office Administrator
Mary Aiello, MA, Director, Clinical Assessment; Director, Standardized Patient Program
Melissa Smock, Medical Education Program Specialist
Jordan Wilton, RN, MS, Year 2 Curriculum Coordinator; Assistant Director, Standardized Patient Program; Nurse Educator, Year 2 responsibilities
Cheryl Ashburn, RN, MSN, Nurse Educator, Year 2 responsibilities
Carolyn Holmes, MSN, RN, Nurse Educator, Neuromuscular/Behavior Unit, Radiology
Karen Reynolds, RN, MS, Nurse Educator, Hematology, Immunology & Infection Unit; Nurse Educator, Cardiovascular, Renal, Respiratory Unit and Neoplasia Streamer
Leslie Montgomery, RN, MS, Nurse Educator, Doctoring Coordinator
Kelly Pickrell, RN-BC, MSN, Nurse Educator, Endocrine, Reproduction & Gastrointestinal Unit 
Theresa Waters, RN, BSN EHR, Educational Specialist
Tina White, RN, MS, Nurse Educator, Year 2 Responsibilities
Melissa Buchanan, BS, Computer Support
Cherie Forsyth, Curriculum Registrar
Jean Afflerbach, MS, MA, Web Access & Support
Kaylee Childress, AV, PDL Support, Tutor Room Support

 

SPACE:  FREQUENTLY USED ROOMS

801 N. Rutledge (“801 Building”) 

   

Second Floor

2209 Tutor Room A
2217 Tutor Room B
2221 Tutor Room C
2237 Tutor Room D
2249 Tutor Room E
2260 Tutor Room F
2262 Tutor Room G
2269 Tutor Room H
2264 Tutor Room I
2334 Tutor Room J
2338 Tutor Room K
2340 Tutor Room L
2346 West Auditorium – used for large group and other sessions
2201 Student Business Office
2266 Clinical Skills Lab
2281 Medical Student Lounge
2273 Wesley G. McNeese, MD, Diversity, Multicultural & Minority Affairs
   

Third Floor

3080 Office of Student Affairs
3060J Student Computer Lab
3050 Office of Education & Curriculum (OEC)
3054 OEC conference room
3064 Professional Development Laboratory (PDL) – used for clinical teaching and assessment
   

Other frequently used rooms in the 801 Building:

2251 South Auditorium
2063 Harbinger (Dean’s Lobby)
2190 Lincoln  (Dean’s Lobby)
2195 Atrium  (Dean’s Lobby)
2239 Pearson Museum
3313 Pharmacology Conference Room
4052 Stevenson Conference Room (Library)
4051 Dirksen Conference Room (Library)
   

327 W. Calhoun

251 Calhoun Computer Training Center
250B Prairie Conference Room
250A Sangamon Conference Room


MISCELLANEOUS


Absences:

  • absences for REQUIRED activities:  (illness, emergencies or late arrivals)
    • Call  217-545-SICK (7425) 
    • Leave a detailed message with your name, best means to contact you, and what activity you will be missing (tutor group, PDL activity, etc).
  • absence from a REQUIRED activity:

Mailboxes:

Located in the Student Business Office, your mailbox should be checked daily and cleaned out regularly. Mailboxes are considered the private domain of an individual student. Reviewing other people's mail is a breach of professional behavior and may be reported as such.

Lockers:

Lockers are available for use during Year 2; however, students must provide their own locks and are responsible for clearing them out at the end of Year 2. Lockers are located in the 2nd floor southwest corridor. Before choosing a locker, please see Kim Stolba in Student Affairs.

Year 2 Bulletin Boards:

Year 2 Curriculum: Located outside the Student Business Office. Only curricular material may be placed on this board.
General Information Bulletin Board: Located in the Student Lounge for your general use.

Computers:

Student computers at 801 N. Rutledge are located in the Student Business Office, Student Lounge, Student Computer Lab and tutor rooms. Computers are also available at SIU’s library and Memorial’s library. Electronic mail should be checked at least daily and your e-mail box should be cleaned out regularly. Electronic mail is the primary communication tool used for the curriculum.

Parking:

Students, faculty, and staff must pay to park in SIU lots. The student charge for an annual sticker is $25 ($20 for additional sticker) which must be paid in cash or by check at the Security Office, Room 1071A. Cars without stickers parked in SIU parking lots will be ticketed, so purchase your sticker as soon as possible.

 

YEAR 2 CURRICULUM COMMITTEE & CONTACTS: 2016-2017

 

YEAR 2 CURRICULUM DIRECTOR Amy Arai, Ph.D.
825 N. Rutledge, 545-0228
aarai@siumed.edu
DOCTORING DIRECTOR

Gary M. Rull, MD, FACP
801/Rm 4257 545-0170
grull@siumed.edu

Staff: Cathy Canham
801/Rm 4270, 545-0060

YEAR 2 CURRICULUM COORDINATOR

Jordan Wilton, RN, MS
801/Rm 3129, 545-4970
jwilton84@siumed.edu

Staff: Ann Augspurger, BA
801/Rm 3045, 545-0795

Hematology, Immunology & Infection Unit Co-Chair – William Halford, PhD, Medical Microbiology, 825 N. Rutledge, 545-4277, whalford@siumed.edu
Unit Co-Chair – Vidhya Prakash, MD, FACP, Internal Medicine, MMC, 545-9148, vprakash59@siumed.edu
Unit Co-Chair - Sanjai Nagendra, MD, Pathology, MMC, 788-4505, nagendra.sanjai@mhsil.com
Nurse Educator – Karen Reynolds, RN, MS; OEC,545-4977, kreynolds@siumed.edu
Cardiovascular, Renal and Respiratory Unit Co-Chair – Julio Copello, PhD, Dept. of Pharmacology, Pharm 9629, 545-2207, jcopello@siumed.edu
Unit Co-Chair – Omar Vargas, MD, Internal Medicine, 545-0060, ovargas@siumed.edu
Nurse Educator – Karen Reynolds, RN, MS; OEC, 545-4977, kreynolds@siumed.edu
Neuromuscular and Behavior Unit Chair – Fazeel Siddiqui, MD, Dept. of Neurology, 545-5175, fsiddiqui@siumed.edu
Amy Arai, PhD, Pharmacology, 801 N. Rutledge, 545-0228 aarai@siumed.edu
Nurse Educator – Carolyn Holmes, MSN, RN; OEC, 545-4983, cholmes@siumed.edu
Endocrine, Reproduction and Gastrointestinal Unit Co-Chair – Tracy Aldridge, MD, Family & Community Medicine, 757-8137, 520 N. Fourth Street, taldridge@siumed.edu
Unit Co-Chair – Randolph Elble Ph.D., Dept. of Pharmacology, Pharm MC 9629 and Cancer MC 9672, 545-7381, relble2@siumed.edu
Nurse Educator – Kelly Pickrell, RN-BC, MS; OEC, 545-8979 or 545-7088 (OEC), kpickrell@siumed.edu
Doctoring Director – Gary M. Rull, MD, FACP, Internal Medicine, 801 N. Rutledge, 545-0170, grull@siumed.edu
Coordinator – Leslie Montgomery, RN, MS; OEC, 545-2230, lmontgomery@siumed.edu
Longitudinal Streamers Longitudinal Streamers
Molecular - TBA
Infection & Immunology – Michael Olson, PhD, Medical Microbiology, 825 N. Rutledge, 545-4277, molson39@siumed.edu and Donald S. Torry, PhD, Medical Microbiology and Immunology, 825 N. Rutledge, 545-2181, dtorry@siumed.edu
Neoplasia – TBA
Population Health & Prevention – Tracey Smith, DNP, PHCNS-BC, MS, Family and Community Medicine, 545-2200, tsmith@siumed.edu and Steve Verhulst, PhD, Stats & Research, 913 N. Rutledge, 545-4418
Radiology – Edward Harter, MD, Dept. of Radiology, 757-2387, eharter37@siumed.edu
Other committee members include: Library Faculty Representative
Geoff Pettys, MA, MS, Information Resources/Medical Library, 801 N. Rutledge, 545-2112, gpettys31@siumed.edu
Medical Students
Rianna Mahan, MS2, rmahan33@siumed.edu
Allen Ghareeb, MS3, aghareeb86@siumed.edu
Members at Large
Wendi El-Amin, M.D., Department of Pharmacology, Family and Community Medicine
Shelly Tischkau, Ph.D., Department of Pharmacology,
Donald Torry, Ph.D., Department of Medical Microbiology, Immunology and Biology
Ex Officio
Jean Afflerbach, OEC – Information and Technology Technical Associate, 545-8082, jafflerbach@siumed.edu
Mary Aiello, MA, OEC – Director, Clinical Assessments, 545-7126, maiello@siumed.edu
Anna Cianciolo, PhD, Dept. of Medical Education, 911 N. Rutledge, 545-0123, acianciolo@siumed.edu
Heeyong Han, PhD, Dept. of Medical Education, 911 N. Rutledge, 545-8536, hhan@siumed.edu
Deb Klamen, MD, MHPE, OEC, Associate Dean for Education and Curriculum, 545-7932, dklamen@siumed.edu
Sandy Shea, PhD, OEC–Carbondale, 618-453-1589, sshea@siumed.edu
Theresa Waters, OEC, EHR Educator/Support, 801 N. Rutledge, 545-6963, twaters@siumed.edu