AWIMS earns 2020 Inspiring Affinity Group Award from "INSIGHT into Diversity" magazine

Published Date:

The SIU School of Medicine Alliance of Women in Medicine and Science (AWIMS) group has been named a recipient of INSIGHT Into Diversity magazine’s 2020 Inspiring Affinity Group AwardINSIGHT Into Diversity is the oldest and largest diversity and inclusion publication and job board in higher education today. It is the premiere resource for D and I news and information, the creators of the annual Higher Education Excellence in Diversity (HEED) Award, and the creators of Viewfinder Campus Climate Surveys. INSIGHT is also the only remaining print magazine today focused exclusively on diversity and inclusion in higher education and beyond.

This award is being presented as a tribute to programs that are inspiring and encouraging higher education professionals to come to a campus because they have created employees resource groups that offer mentoring, collaboration, social networking opportunities, and more. These programs will matter as we are in the middle of this unprecedented period of uncertainty.

The 2020 Inspiring Affinity Group award recipients, including AWIMS, will be profiled in the upcoming July/August issue of INSIGHT Into Diversity magazine.

More from SIU News

Student with patient

Medical Students Training with Local Physicians

Family physicians in several Illinois communities are hosting students from Southern Illinois University School of Medicine through July 30. The students are participating in the school’s Family

Introducing the Dale and Deborah Smith Center

A major gift to SIU School of Medicine will transform the health care of people throughout Illinois and beyond. Springfield couple Dale and Deborah Smith donated a substantial financial gift to the
SIU School of Medicine Class of 2021

SIU School of Medicine grants degrees to Class of ‘21

Seventy-two physicians and three graduate students at Southern Illinois University School of Medicine received their diplomas Saturday, May 22, at the school’s 47th annual commencement. The ceremony