Phone Line Dropped Calls

SIU Medicine's primary phone line, 217-545-8000, is experiencing intermittent dropped calls. We apologize for this inconvenience and are working to correct this issue as soon as possible.


SIU Medicine faculty named 'Best Doctors'

Published Date:
The latest edition of Best Doctors includes listings for 18 SIU physicians. Founded in 1989 by Harvard Medical School, Best Doctors are selected by impartial peer review in more than 450 medical specialty/subspecialty combinations, with review of their diagnosis and treatment plans. Congratulations to Dr. Buescher, Dr. Stone, and Dr. Flack!
  1. Lucinda Buescher, dermatology
  2. Stephen Stone, dermatology
  3. John Flack, internal medicine
  4. Jeffrey Cozzens, neuroscience
  5. Tom Ala, neuroscience
  6. Rodger Elble, neuroscience
  7. James Gilchrist, neuroscience
  8. Ricardo Loret de Mola, OB-GYN
  9. Casey Younkin, OB-GYN
  10. Ranjiv Mathews, pediatric urology
  11. Michael Neumeister, plastic surgery
  12. John Mellinger, general surgery
  13. John Sutyak, general surgery
  14. Jarrod Wall, general surgery
  15. Traves Crabtree, cardiothoracic surgery
  16. Stephen Hazelrigg, cardiothoracic surgery
  17. Brad Schwartz, urology
  18. Jan Rakinic, colorectal surgery

More from SIU News

Raj @ 3-Minute Thesis

Pharmacology grad student wins SIU 3-Minute Thesis competition

A trio of School of Medicine graduate students put their presentation skills to the test at the Three-Minute Thesis (3MT) competition on the Carbondale campus February 2. They summarized their research in 3 minutes or less using a single PowerPoint slide.
Valentine bear care at Doll Clinic

Doll Clinic offers children gentle guide to a doctor’s visit

The Doll Clinic is a community service that SIU Medicine’s Physician Assistant Program coordinates annually for SIU Head Start. The host sites alternate every year between Carbondale, Marion and Murphysboro. This year, morning and afternoon sessions were held at SIU Marion Head Start on February 8.
Teddy bear

Southern Illinois teams to participate in child abuse simulation training

The challenges of preventing and responding to cases of child abuse can be difficult, even to professionals familiar in their roles within social welfare agencies. To aid in improving care, child protection teams from two Children’s Advocacy Centers (CAC) in Franklin and Williamson counties and the seven southernmost counties in Illinois (Two Rivers CAC) will receive simulation training on February 21-22 in Carbondale.