Jayant Acharya, MD

Chair and Professor, Department of Neurology, Executive Director of the Neuroscience Institute

    About me

    Dr. Jayant Acharya recently joined Southern Illinois University School of Medicine as Professor and Chair of the Department of Neurology and Executive Director of the Neuroscience Institute.

    Dr. Acharya obtained his medical school training followed by residencies in Internal Medicine and Neurology in India before moving to the United States, where he completed a residency in Neurology at Wake Forest University School of Medicine and a fellowship in Epilepsy and Clinical Neurophysiology at the Cleveland Clinic Foundation. Subsequently, he worked as an Assistant Professor of Neurology at the University of Pittsburgh and Associate Professor of Neurology at Saint Louis University before moving to Penn State University as a tenured Professor of Neurology, and Chief of the Division of Epilepsy and Co-Director of the Clinical Neurophysiology Lab.

    He is the recipient of numerous honors and academic, research and teaching awards, and is listed in Best Doctors in America. He has been elected as a fellow of the American Epilepsy Society, American Clinical Neurophysiology Society, American Academy of Neurology and American Neurological Association.

    Dr. Acharya has authored several publications on all aspects of epilepsy and has been a manuscript and book reviewer for numerous leading journals. He is on the editorial board of Clinical Neurophysiology Practice and the Journal of Clinical Neurophysiology. He is a member of various local, regional, national and international committees and served as Chair of the Self-Assessment in Epilepsy Committee, and Vice-Chair of the Educational and Professional Development Committee of the American Epilepsy Society. Dr. Acharya has twice received the Dean's Award for Excellence in Teaching and Scholarship in Education awards, and been honored with the title of Distinguished Educator at Penn State College of Medicine. He has been an invited speaker and panelist at a number of regional, national, and international conferences.

    Treatments Offered:
    Epilepsy-medical, surgical and neurostimulation EEG interpretation including routine, ambulatory, continuous EEG and noninvasive and invasive video-EEG monitoring Neurological disorders



    Education & training

    Neurologist and Epilepsy Specialist
    Executive Director of the Neuroscience Institute
    Board Certifications
    Sleep Medicine
    Clinical Neurophysiology
    Medical School
    M.B.B.S, B.J. Medical College, Pune, India
    M.D, Internal Medicine, B.J. Medical College, Pune, India
    D.M., Neurology, National Institute of Mental Health and Neurosciences (NIMHANS), Bengaluru, India
    Internal Medicine, B.J. Medical College, Pune, India
    Neurology, National Institute of Mental Health and Neurosciences (NIMHANS), Bengaluru, India
    Neurology with 1-year internship in Internal Medicine, Wake Forest University Medical Center, Winston-Salem, NC
    Epilepsy and Clinical Neurophysiology, Cleveland Clinic Foundation, Cleveland, OH



    • Shri Balkrishna Chintoba Prize
    • Shivaram Ramaji Gholay Prize
    • The late Dr. Ajit Krishna Gharpure Prize
    • The Dr. P. L. Deshmukh Memorial Prize


    • Hindustan Ciba-Geigy Gold Medal at the XL Annual Conference of the Neurological Society of India
    • International Young Investigator Award at the 20th International Epilepsy
    • Congress held at Oslo, Norway     
    • Senior Prize at the Cleveland Clinic Foundation     
    • William E. Lower Award-Cleveland Clinic Foundation


    • St. Louis University School of Medicine -Resident teaching award:  Best teacher – Clinical -Resident teaching award:  Best teacher – Lectures Penn State College of Medicine
    • Dean’s Award for Excellence in Teaching:  twice-2014 and 2022
    • Scholarship in Education (SIE) Award: twice-2018 and 2021
    • Distinguished Educator Award: 2020

    Related articles

    Jayant Acharya

    Acharya named Neurology chair and co-director of SIU Neuroscience Institute

    Dr. Jayant Acharya has been named the chair of the Department of Neurology and co-executive director of the Neuroscience Institute at Southern Illinois University School of Medicine.