Phone Line Dropped Calls

SIU Medicine's primary phone line, 217-545-8000, is experiencing intermittent dropped calls. We apologize for this inconvenience and are working to correct this issue as soon as possible.

41382565_s maternial

OB-GYN Recognizes 2018 Award-winning Faculty, Learners

Published Date:

The Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology at SIU Medicine recognized several faculty members and learners with awards.

Fernando Aguirre-Amezquita, MD, received the J.W. Roddick Jr. Award for Outstanding Resident of the Year. The recipient of this award is a fourth-year resident selected by the resident and faculty physicians for their outstanding teaching abilities, excellence in patient care, leadership qualities, research qualifications, and human compassion. View previous recipients. 

Yahia Zeino, MD, earned the Council on Resident Education in Obstetrics and Gynecology's Full-time Faculty Award for Excellence in Resident Education. Brard was selected by SIU Medicine resident physicians for his outstanding teaching. View previous recipients.

Casey Younkin, MD, received the Association of Professors of Gynecology and Obstetrics' Excellence in Teaching Award. SIU medical students selected Younkin for his outstanding teaching. View previous recipients.

SIU medical students also selected Fernando Aguirre-Amezquita, MD, as Resident Teacher of the Year. View previous recipients.

Caroline Harris, MD, received the American Association of Gynecologic Laparoscopists Surgeon of the Year Award, an honor bestowed by SIU Medicine faculty for being the best laparoscopic surgeon. View previous recipients.

SIU resident physicians selected Nora MacZura, MD, (not pictured) as the recipient of the Volunteer Faculty Award for Excellence in Resident Education. View previous recipients.


More from SIU News

IAPA conference table

IAPA conference highlights SIU physician assistants achievements

The Illinois Academy of Physician Assistants (IAPA) hosted its Fall CME conference in Rosemont in October, its first since 2019. The group welcomed Physician Assistants, providing a platform for networking, honing skills and expertise in patient care and fostering a spirit of camaraderie.
Harbinger bust

Distinguished Alumni 2024

A trio of SIU School of Medicine alumni are being honored for their distinguished service and career accomplishments. They will be recognized at the 2024 Commencement Ceremony in May.
Dawn Defraites & Stcy Grundy

Kenniebrew, McNeese awards celebrate champions of equity, inclusion

During the 2024 Alonzo Kenniebrew Lecture on February 8, Dr. Wendi El-Amin presented awards to honor individuals and a group who continue the challenging work Dr. Kenniebrew modeled, promoting inclusive excellence and equitable practices.