You are here

Shirley McGlinn Milestone Ceremony Welcomes MP class of '21

October 4, 2019

MP Class of '21 members took the MEDPREP Pledge at the Shirley McGlinn Milestone ceremony, held August 18, 2019. Each incoming student was matched with a second-year MEDPREP student mentor, who "pinned" their mentee with an official MEDPREP pin. The milestone ceremony, modeled after medical and dental "whilte coat" ceremonies, formally welcomes new students into the MEDPREP family and marks the start of a new educational journey towards medical or dental school.

Thanks to generous donors, MEDPREP was also able to provide $12,000 worth of scholarship support to a number of second-year students.

  • Lewis Family Endowed Scholarships to Mary Hong, Tierra Hunter, DiReon Lowry, Megan Mayville and Mariah Tate.
  • Wesley Robinson McNeese Scholarship (Dr. McNeese is pictured at right, with recipient Rashaad Goodloe).
  • Harold and Lana Bardo Endowed Scholarships to Irene Adeleke and Ashley Pittman. 
  • Shirley McGlinn Scholarship to Elisheba Odei.
  • Sistler Family Scholarship to Alyssa Lawrence.
  • Faculty and Staff Scholarship to Sasha Beecham.
  • The inaugural Tamara O'Neal Memorial Scholarship to Chinade Roper.

The ceremony, attended by MEDPREP faculty, as well as friends and family of MEDPREP students, was followed by a reception in the Morris Library rotunda. Congratulations to our 33 new MEDPREP members, and to our second-year scholarship winners!