crystal awards for surgical education

Learners recognize surgical educators with 2021 teaching awards

Published Date:

Medical students and residents have determined the recipients of the 2021 Department of Surgery Teaching Awards.

Nick Tadros, MD, MCR, was named the "Outstanding Educator of the Year."

Emily Serafin, MD, was the recipient of the "Community Faculty Teacher of the Year" award.

Samuel Grampsas, MD, and Melanie Barnard, MD, received the "Faculty Teacher of the Year for Resident Teaching" awards.

Norman Otsuka, MD, and Gordon Allan, MD, received the "Faculty Teacher of the Year for Medical Student Teaching" awards.

Philipos Gebremedhin, MD, received the "Resident Teacher of the Year" award.


More from SIU News

Kevin Hascup

Hascup Lab, SIUC collaboration to explore new path for Alzheimer’s therapy

A collaboration between neuroscience and engineering will explore a novel approach in reducing formation of plaques commonly found in those with Alzheimer’s. Kevin Hascup, PhD, of the Smith Alzheimer

Providing hope, quality of life for those with Alzheimer’s

Art Express is one of many programs at the Smith Alzheimer’s Center at SIU Medicine designed to help those with dementia and their caregivers improve their quality of life.
Dr. Chris McDowell

Chris McDowell named Executive Associate Dean of SIU Medicine

Dr. Chris McDowell has been named the new Executive Associate Dean of SIU School of Medicine. He is an alumnus of the school (Class of 2005), chair of Emergency Medicine, an associate professor and the medical director for the Memorial Learning Center.