2019-2020 GME Quality Improvement Poster Competition Award Winners

Published Date:

Congratulations to the winners of the 2019-2020 Graduate Medical Education Resident & Fellow Poster Competition held April 2020!

  • 1st Place:  “Increasing Efficiency through Delegation of Duties in a Developmental Disabilities Clinic”, Clayton Parks, M.D.; Ashima Datey-Chakrabarty, M.D.; Patricia Baumann, M.D.; Alborz Javadzadeh, M.D.; Jeffrey I. Bennett, M.D., Psychiatry

  • 2nd Place:  “Lean Six Sigma Approach to Improve Process Variation and Decrease Time-to-Surgery for Hip Fractures", Austin Beason, MD; Evan Davis, PT, MS, MBA; Jennifer Quastler, RN, BSHA; Becky Douglas; Caitlin West; Carol Hafley, MHA, RN; Mark Wojdyla, MD; Ronald Romanelli, MD; Matthew Gardner, MD4; Zak Gurnsey, MD; James Waymack, MD, Orthopaedics

  • 3rd Place:  “Smoking Cessation Counseling”, Pejman Jamkhou MD; Mark Scott MD; Johnny Tenegra MD, Decatur Family Medicine

  • 3rd Place:  “SIU Vascular Surgery: The Transition from Inpatient to Outpatient Management”, Shawn Poole MD MBA; Douglas B Hood MD; Safoora Choudry MD; Tian Zhang MD, Vascular Surgery

Thank you to Memorial Medical Center Foundation for their support of this event. 

For additional information about this event go to

More from SIU News

Student with patient

Medical Students Training with Local Physicians

Family physicians in several Illinois communities are hosting students from Southern Illinois University School of Medicine through July 30. The students are participating in the school’s Family

Introducing the Dale and Deborah Smith Center

A major gift to SIU School of Medicine will transform the health care of people throughout Illinois and beyond. Springfield couple Dale and Deborah Smith donated a substantial financial gift to the
SIU School of Medicine Class of 2021

SIU School of Medicine grants degrees to Class of ‘21

Seventy-two physicians and three graduate students at Southern Illinois University School of Medicine received their diplomas Saturday, May 22, at the school’s 47th annual commencement. The ceremony