J. Kevin Dorsey Outstanding Educators

SIU School of Medicine faculty members are often recognized for their innovative teaching, student- and patient-centered approach, commitment to educational research, and development of effective curricula. Each year, the Academy for Scholarship in Education (ASE) selects an exemplary faculty member as the J. Kevin Dorsey Outstanding Educator Award. 

To earn this prestigious honor, a faculty member must demonstrate excellence as an educator including exemplary teaching and facilitation of problem-based learning, use of innovative educational techniques, contributions to medical education research, and development of curriculum. An Outstanding Educator not only influences teaching and learning here at SIU School of Medicine and in the surrounding community, but also impacts medical teaching and learning on a national level.

The Educator of the Year Award is named the J. Kevin Dorsey Outstanding Educator Award in honor of J. Kevin Dorsey, MD, PhD., professor and dean emeritus who was dean and provost from 2001to 2015.  

Dorsey has served in numerous leadership roles during his nearly 40-year career at SIU School of Medicine. He was one of the first faculty members hired in 1973 and taught the medical school's charter class as a biochemistry professor in Carbondale. He has been a researcher, educator, student, clinician, administrator and dean and provost. He is the first dean to hold a medical degree from SIU School of Medicine (1978) and only the third dean in the medical school's 45-year history. His present interests include promoting empathy and professionalism in the culture of health care institutions. He completed an internal medicine residency and rheumatology fellowship (1983) at the University of Iowa, a postdoctoral fellowship in cell biology at Johns Hopkins University (1973), and he earned a doctorate in biochemistry at the University of Wisconsin (1968).


Karen Broquet, MD         Graduate Medical Education

Wendi El-Amin, MD         FCM

Diana Sarko, PhD              Department of Anatomy

Vidya Sundareshan, MD Infectious Disease

Vidya Prakash, MD           Internal Medicine

Laurie Ryznyk    PA Program

John P. Sutyak, EdM MD, FACS   ER/Trauma

Heeyoung Han, PhD        Department of Medical Education

Anna Cianciolo, PhD        Department of Medical Education

Lisabeth DiLalla, PhD      FCM

John Mellinger, MD         Surgery

Bradley Schwartz, DO, FACS         Surgery - Urology

Shelley Tischkau, PhD     MMICB and Pharmacology

Gary Rull, MD    Internal Medicine

Stephen M. Soltys, MD  Psychiatry

Tracy Lower, MD              Pediatrics

Gary Dunnington, MD    Surgery

Sue Hingle, MD Internal Medicine

Donald M. Caspary, Phd Research Professor, Department of Pharmacology

Amy Arai, PhD   Pharmacology

David Rogers, MD, MHPE              Surgery - Pediatrics

Shirley McGlinn, M.S.     MEDPREP

Michael Neumeister, MD             Surgery - Plastics

James M. Daniels II, MD FCM