Phone Line Dropped Calls

SIU Medicine's primary phone line, 217-545-8000, is experiencing intermittent dropped calls. We apologize for this inconvenience and are working to correct this issue as soon as possible.


SIU GME Quality Improvement Poster Competition

Published Date:

The SIU Graduate Medical Education Committee recently presented the 4th Annual SIU SOM Quality Improvement Poster Symposium and Competition. The event showcases residents’ and fellows’ quality improvement projects. Originally scheduled for April 8, the 2019-20 SIU QI:  Poster Symposium and Competition was held online this year. Monetary awards were given to the top three Quality Improvement projects:

    First place = $250

    Second place = $150

    Third place = $100

Submitted projects had to show initiative and commitment to improving systems and processes that directly and indirectly improve patient safety and quality of health care delivery. A panel of SIU SOM faculty and hospital administrators with expertise in quality improvement served as judges.

View the poster submissions for the 2019-2020 SIU GME QI Poster Competition

Congratulations to the winners!



1st Place:  “Increasing Efficiency through Delegation of Duties in a Developmental Disabilities Clinic” - Clayton Parks, MD; Ashima Datey-Chakrabarty, MD; Patricia Baumann, MD; Alborz Javadzadeh, MD; Jeffrey Bennett, MD, Psychiatry


2nd Place:  “Lean Six Sigma Approach to Improve Process Variation and Decrease Time-to-Surgery for Hip Fractures" - Austin Beason, MD; Evan Davis, PT, MS, MBA; Jennifer Quastler, RN, BSHA; Becky Douglas; Caitlin West; Carol Hafley, MHA, RN; Mark Wojdyla, MD; Ronald Romanelli, MD; Matthew Gardner, MD; Zak Gurnsey, MD; James Waymack, MD, Orthopedics


3rd Place: (right)  “Smoking Cessation Counseling,” Pejman Jamkhou, MD; Mark Scott, MD; Johnny Tenegra, MD, Decatur Family Medicine


3rd Place: (left)  “SIU Vascular Surgery: The Transition from Inpatient to Outpatient Management” - Shawn Poole, MD, MBA; Douglas Hood, MD; Safoora Choudry, MD; Tian Zhang, MD, Vascular Surgery

Thank you to Memorial Medical Center Foundation for their support of this event.

For additional information go to

More from SIU News

IAPA conference table

IAPA conference highlights SIU physician assistants achievements

The Illinois Academy of Physician Assistants (IAPA) hosted its Fall CME conference in Rosemont in October, its first since 2019. The group welcomed Physician Assistants, providing a platform for networking, honing skills and expertise in patient care and fostering a spirit of camaraderie.
Harbinger bust

Distinguished Alumni 2024

A trio of SIU School of Medicine alumni are being honored for their distinguished service and career accomplishments. They will be recognized at the 2024 Commencement Ceremony in May.
Dawn Defraites & Stcy Grundy

Kenniebrew, McNeese awards celebrate champions of equity, inclusion

During the 2024 Alonzo Kenniebrew Lecture on February 8, Dr. Wendi El-Amin presented awards to honor individuals and a group who continue the challenging work Dr. Kenniebrew modeled, promoting inclusive excellence and equitable practices.