Frank J. Toth Award

Call for Nominations & Support Letters: Wednesday, March 1, 2023, at 4 p.m.

Deadline for Nominations & Support Letters: Thursday, April 20, 2023, at 4 p.m.

This award honors the memory of Frank J. Toth, who worked for many years as a chemist for the federal Environmental Protection Agency. His work and life in support of health-related science and research inspired this recognition of research personnel (non-faculty) whose work contributes to the research mission of SIU School of Medicine. Dr. Linda Toth, former Associate Dean for Research, established the award.

The Research Policy Committee (RPC) invites nomination packets to be submitted by faculty and supervisors for review and selection. All SIU School of Medicine research support personnel that do not hold a faculty rank are eligible. Trainees (students, residents, and clinical or postdoctoral fellows) and past recipients are not eligible.

The award consists of a plaque and a monetary travel award to assist the recipient in attending a professional meeting/conference, continuing education event or in receiving other training related to their job responsibilities as approved by the award recipient’s supervisor. The recipient will have one year to use the award funds.

 Past Award Recipients

Year    Awardee  &  Department
2012    Robert Meech    Surgery
2013    Kathleen Groesch    CCR
2014    Heather Westrick    CCR
2015    Christopher Chambers    MMICB
2016    Julie Baumgardner    Cancer Institute
2017    Whitney Zahnd    Center for Population Health
2018    Lisa Volk-Draper    MMICB
2019    Melissa Roberts    ADR
2020    Cassie Vorachek    DLAM, ADR
2021    Amanda Fogleman    Population Science & Policy
2022    Kristal Adams    Center for Clinical Research