Statistics and Informatics Division

statistics@siumed.edu
217-545-9700

The Statistics and Informatics Division provides research and statistical services to discovery science and clinical faculty at the School of Medicine at both the Springfield and Carbondale campuses. Consultation provided covers a wide range of research and statistical issues, including conceptualization of research problem, experimental design, statistical analysis of data, interpretation and presentation of statistical findings, and write up of research results. The policy of the division is to assist faculty researchers in any way that facilitates their research productivity. Each year, Statistics and Research consulting provides service on 250 to 300 major projects involving over 1,000 consulting contacts with School of Medicine researchers.

This division serves to support the clinical, discovery science, educational and administrative research needs for the school of medicine. In particular, this core provides support in the areas of statistics, research informatics, translational research, and health outcomes based research.

Statistical Support

  • Conceptualization of research problems
  • Experimental design
  • Statistical analysis of data
  • Interpretation and presentation of statistical findings
  • Presentation of research results

Research Informatics

  • Database creation & management
  • Data collection/acquisition
  • Data entry, coding and de-identification
  • Data analysis/reporting

Translational Research

  • Navigating requirements necessary for developing/testing treatments and therapies
  • Performing community and practice based research
  • Assessing population level data
  • Describing demographic and social makeup of population

Health Outcomes

  • Data acquisition     
  • Data management
  • Data storage
  • Analysis of data sources

The Statistics Core Team:

Albert Botchway, PhD
Research Assistant Professor
217-545-3611
abotchway38@siumed.edu
Michael Buhnerkempe, PhD
Research Assistant Professor
217-545-9605
mbuhnerkempe66@siumed.edu
Kristin Delfino, PhD
Research Assistant Professor
217-545-1498
kdelfino84@siumed.edu
Andrew Fields, MS
Data Architect/Programmer
217-545-8491
afields94@siumed.edu
Vivek Prakash, MS
Data Architect/Programmer II
217-545-0091
vprakash29@siumed.edu
Stephen Roy, PhD
Post-Doctoral Fellow
217-545-8065
sroy68@siumed.edu
Steve Scaife, MS
Data Architect/Programmer
217-545-6949
sscaife@siumed.edu