You are here

Meet the Residency Staff

Internal Medicine Residency Staff

As a resident-centered program we want you to know our door is always open. We value the relationships we develop over the course of your training at SIU School of Medicine. Whether or not you were born and raised here, you will come to love the friendly personalities of Central Illinois, the sights and sounds of the State Fair, and the taste of your first Horseshoe!

The residency staff are first and foremost resident advocates. As Dr. John Flack, Department Chair, states, "SIU Internal Medicine is a special place!"

Visit us on Facebook @ SIU Internal Medicine Residency or Instagram @siu_im_residency!


Andrew J. Varney, MD/ Internal Medicine Program Director                                                John M. Flack, MD, MPH, Internal Medicine Chairman  



 Kathleen Bottum, MD/ Medicine Pscyhiatry Program Director


    Schuyler Stone, MD/ Associate Residency Program Director                                   Krati Chauhan, MD/ Associate Residency Program Director                


      Cameron Koester, DO/ 2020-2021 IM Chief of Residents                                Nitin Tandan, MD/ 2020-2021 IM Chief of Residents

Catherine H. Brower, MPA/ Program Administrator/ Coordinator

Megan R. Miner/ Medical Education Program Coordinator

Susan McLaughlin/ Residency Office Manager