You are here

Statistics & Informatics Division

statistics@siumed.edu
217-545-9700

The  Statistics and Informatics Division provides research and statistical services to discovery science and clinical faculty at the School of Medicine at both the Springfield and Carbondale campuses. Consultation provided covers a wide range of research and statistical issues, including conceptualization of research problem, experimental design, statistical analysis of data, interpretation and presentation of statistical findings, and write up of research results. The policy of the division is to assist faculty researchers in any way that facilitates their research productivity. Each year, Statistics and Research consulting provides service on 250 to 300 major projects involving over 1,000 consulting contacts with School of Medicine researchers.

This division serves to support the clinical, discovery science, educational and administrative research needs for the school of medicine. In particular, this core provides support in the areas of statistics, research informatics, translational research, and health outcomes based research.

Statistical Support

  • Conceptualization of research problems

  • Experimental design

  • Statistical analysis of data

  • Interpretation and presentation of statistical findings

  • Presentation of research results

Research Informatics

  • Database creation & management

  • Data collection/acquisition

  • Data entry, coding and de-identification

  • Data analysis/reporting

Translational Research

  • Navigating requirements necessary for developing/testing treatments and therapies

  • Performing community and practice based research

  • Assessing population level data

  • Describing demographic and social makeup of population

Health Outcomes

  • Data acquisition

  • Data management

  • Data storage

  • Analysis of data sources

The Statistics Core Team:

Albert Botchway, PhD
Research Assistant Professor

(217) 545-3611
abotchway38@siumed.edu

Michael Buhnerkempe, PhD
Research Assistant Professor

(217) 545-9605

mbuhnerkempe66@siumed.edu

Kristin Delfino, PhD
Research Assistant Professor

(217) 545-1498

kdelfino84@siumed.edu

Maithili Deshpande, B.Pharm, PhD
Adjunct Assistant Professor

(217) 545-4429

mdeshpande93@siumed.edu

Vivek Prakash, MS
Statistical Research Specialist

(217) 545-9549

vprakash29@siumed.edu

Steve Scaife, MS
Data Architect/Programmer

(217) 545-6949

sscaife@siumed.edu

Steven Verhulst, PhD
Research Professor

(217) 545-4978

sverhulst@siumed.edu