You are here

2021 Board of Governors

The 20-member board represents the interests of medical school graduates, residents, fellows, and students and serves as the official vehicle for alumni to maintain personal and professional relationships with the school. The board works to support the school’s mission, provide governance of the Alumni Society, and receive information of importance from SIU School of Medicine for the professional well-being of the alumni membership.

SIU School of Medicine Alumni Society Board of Governors

Richard Austin, MD, '14
Specialty: Emergency Medicine
(Vice President 2020-2023)
Austin Beason, MD, '17
Specialty: Ortho Surgery
(Term Expires 2022)
Careyana Brenham, MD, '00
Specialty: Family Medicine
(Term Expires 2022)
Elizabeth Montgomery Collins, MD, MPH, DTM '96
Specialty:  Pediatrics/Global Health
(Term Expires 2022 w/renewal until 2025)
Jason Gillihan, MD, '06
Specialty: Anesthesiology
(Term Expires 2022)
Jacqueline Harris, MD, '08
Specialty: Family Medicine
(Term Expires 2021)
Sean Hollonbeck, MD, '97
Specialty:  Family Medicine/Aerospace Medicine
(Term Expires 2022 w/renewal until 2025)
Michael Honan, MD, '91
Specialty: Internal Medicine
(Term Expires 2020)
Jesse Hsieh, MD '86
Specialty: Family Medicine
(Term Expires 2022 w/renewal until 2025)
Breck Jones, MD, '15
Specialty: Neurological Surgery
(Term Expires 2020 w/renewal until 2023)
Robert Juranek, MD, '79
Specialty: Internal Medicine
(Term Expires 2021)
Vacant - To be filled in 2020


(Term Expires)
Stephen Raben, MD '90
Specialty:  Family Medicine
(Term Expires 2021 w/renewal until 2024)
Susan Reeder, MD, '85
Specialty: Internal Medicine
(Secretary 2020-2023)
Mark Schmelzel, MD '79
Specialty: Surgery
(Term Expires
David Skillrud, MD '79
Specialty: Pulmonary/Sleep Medicine
(Term Expires 2022 w/renewal until 2025)
Christine Todd, MD '93
Specialty: Internal Medicine
(Term Expires 2022 w/renewal until 2025)
Tabatha Wells, MD, '09
Specialty: Family Medicine
(Term Expires 2022)
Lisa Wichterman, MD, '81
Specialty: Radiology
(Treasurer 2020-2023)
Matt Winkleman, MD, '02
Specialty: Family Medicine
(President 2020-2023)


Jerry Kruse, MD, MSPH
Dean and Provost
Erik J. Constance, MD, '88
Associate Dean for Student Affairs

Wendi El-Amin, MD
Associate Dean for Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion
Patsy WappelHal Smith
Executive Director of Development/Foundation
Giuseppe Maiocco
Class of 2024
Ademola Adeoshun
Class of 2023
Elek Wellman
Class of 2022
Rukmini Roy​
Class of 2021
Office of Alumni Affairs
Julie Robbs, MA
Director of Alumni Affairs
Office of Alumni Affairs Staff
Mary Jo Davies
Events Administrator Associate
Lisa Fowler
Office Manager
Kate Moore
Program Coordinator